Follow Us At:

County Sheriff

Marshall County Sheriff
Dale Elsen

911 Vander Horck
PO Box 9
Britton, SD 57430
Phone: 605-448-5181
Fax: 605-448-5927

Total staff:  13
Total deputies:  5
Operates a 6 bed jail

no photo available


Sheriff Dale Elsen began working for the Marshall County Sheriff’s Office on August 15th, 1977.  He attended law enforcement training in Pierre in 1978.  Dale took office as Sheriff on January 3th, 1983.

Sheriff Elsen and his five deputies handle all law enforcement for all of Marshall County including five incorporated towns and two unincorporated towns through a contract law system.  They cover 878 square miles.  Sheriff Elsen also oversees a six bed jail built in 1908 and is one of the oldest in SD.  The Sheriff’s Office employs 10 full-time and 3 part-time staff.

Sheriff Elsen is a member of the National Sheriffs Association, South Dakota Sheriffs Association, South Dakota Peace Officers Association, Marshall County Local Emergency Planning Committee, Marshall County Democrats, Chairperson of the Salvation Army Marshall County.  He has also donated many years to volunteer with youth sports.

Sheriff Elsen and his wife live in Britton. They have a son and daughter-in-law who live in Sioux Falls.